GXSA Annual Awards 2019

The Association awards are presented at the annual dinner following the AGM. A high standard of achievement is required for the awards and they are not presented if a suitable candidate has not been identified for that year.

The winners are selected by the committee after extensive consideration of nominations from members, except for the Peter Batterley trophy, which is voted directly by the members.

The 2019 GXSA Awards were


Silver Jubilee Trophy - Phil Haig



Bob Gammack Trophy - Mavis and Alun Roberts



The Ruby Cup - Bernie Smallman



The Peter Batterley Trophy - Ted Sutton


The Awards

The Bob Gammack Memorial Trophy

Squadron Leader Robert Davison Gammack MBE, known as Bob, was a young, keen and well liked member of the association who died very suddenly after a short debilitating illness. The Memorial Trophy is awarded for exceptional effort on behalf of the association or in achieving a personal goal - beating an illness or other challenge.

The Silver Jubilee Trophy

This is presented to a member who has shown an ability to extend his/her/their sailing ability beyond our normal horizons.

The Ruby Cup

The Ruby cup is awarded to the Association member each year who has contributed most to encourage, promote or inspire others to participate in boating.

The Peter Batterley Trophy for Photo-Journalism

This trophy was sponsored by Peter Batterley (a founder member), and launched in 2015.  Members of the association submit articles they have written (usually Cruising Logs, but any article of interest/value to member is accepted).  Members vote on the articles and the trophy is awarded to the author of the article that receives the most votes.

More details about the Peter Batterley Trophy can be found here