GXSA Annual Awards

The Association presents four annual awards, normally at the dinner following the AGM.  The winners of trophies are selected by the committee after extensive consideration of nominations from members, except for the Peter Batterley trophy, which is voted directly by the members.

The 2018 GXSA Awards were

Silver Jubilee Trophy - John Rugg


Bob Gammack Trophy - Stuart Gaunt

- pictured with Bernie Smallman, who presented the trophies at the GXSA Annual Dinner.


Ruby Cup - not awarded


Peter Batterley Trophy - Bob Hazell


The Awards

The Bob Gammack Memorial Trophy

Squadron Leader Robert Davison Gammack MBE, known as Bob, was a young, keen and well liked member of the association who died very suddenly after a short debilitating illness. The Memorial Trophy is awarded for exceptional effort on behalf of the association or in achieving a personal goal - beating an illness or other challenge.

The Silver Jubilee Trophy

This is presented to a member who has shown an ability to extend his/her/their sailing ability beyond our normal horizons.

The Ruby Cup

The Ruby cup is awarded to the Association member each year who has contributed most to encourage, promote or inspire others to participate in boating.

The Peter Batterley Trophy for Photo-Journalism

This trophy was sponsored by Peter Batterley (a founder member), and launched in 2015.  Members of the association submit articles they have written (usually Cruising Logs, but any article of interest/value to member is accepted).  Members vote on the articles and the trophy is awarded to the author of the article that receives the most votes.

More details about the Peter Batterley Trophy can be found here


Previous Winners

The Bob Gammack Memorial Trophy

2018 Stuart Gaunt
2017 Graham and Kathy Fairhead
2016 -
2015 Roger Knight
2014 Ken Moss
2013 Geoff Clitheroe
2012 Ray Prowse
2011 Wendy Gentle
2010 Ken Powell
2009 Linda Harper
2008 Duncan Wells 
2007 Geoff Clitheroe
2006 Phill Snowden 
2005 Fred Hughes
2004 Gil Ireland
2002 Paul Covell
2001 Gordon Mathews
2000 Keith Varcoe
1999 Ian Cox
1998 Skipper and Crew of Kwenda 
1997 Bob Allman
1995 Sally and Clive Nelson-Roberts
1994 Ken Kennard
1993 Graham Lock
1991 Hugh and Angela Farrant
1990 Judith Hall
1989 Howard H Measham
1988 Doreen and Archie Annan

Silver Jubilee Trophy

2018 John Rugg
2017 Colin Smith
2016 Diana and Paul Farrell
2015 -
2014 Martin Alexander
2013 Rob Johnstone
2012 Mike & Mary Allan
2011 John Apps
2010 Ray Bridges
2009 Bernie Smallman and John Dawson
2008 John Apps
2007 John Apps
2006 Barry Meacham
2005 Mike and Mary Allan
2004 George Lipscomb
2003 George Lipscomb
2002 Karen and Andrew Walker
2001 George Lipscombe
2000 Peter Poole
1999 Ken Shaw
1998 Glyn Hughes
1997 John and Barbara Rountree
1996 Sally and Clive Nelson-Roberts
1995 Trenna and Maurice Sansom
1994 Gordon Mathews
1993 Peter Walmer
1992 Mr and Mrs D C Lane, Mr and Mrs T G Wood
1991 John Hayward


The Ruby Cup

2018 -
2017 Robert Freeman
2016 Timandra Slade
2015 Mike Goffe
2014 Sue Gaunt
2013 Timandra Slade
2012 Peter Poole
2011 -
2010 -
2009 Ray Bridges
2008 Ray Bridges
2006 Reg and Chris Hadwen

The Peter Batterley Trophy for Photo-Journalism

2018 Bob Hazel Sailing from Antigua to Ireland
2017 Gordon Sims 2016 Thames Traditional Boat Festival
2016 Gordon Sims Renovating Chimere
2015 John Rugg Family Trailer Sailing