Print

AUTUMN PROGRAMME 1988

Wednesday 5th October

SQUARE-RIG SAILING ON 'LORD NELSON'

Two Association members Tom Round, Bill Richardson and Reyffiend--Glenny talk about the challenge of sailing with able and disabled crew.
Wednesday 12th October

CRUISE TO GREENLAND AND THE CANADIAN ARCTIC

Willie Ker recounts his award winning cruise in his Contessa 32.
Wednesday 19th October

THE OCEAN—CRUISING YACHT

Ted and Bill Spears of Bay Class Yachts will talk about building top-quality steel ocean cruising yachts.

Wednesday 26th October

CAMPAIGNING AN ADMIRALS CUP TEAM

Stuart Quarrie of British Performance Sailing describes the preparation and man­agement for an Admirals Cup Challenge.LA-

Wednesday 2nd November.

FRANCIS DRAKE TO WINDWARD

.Stephen Riley of The National Maritime Museum Greenwich reviews the tactics for the defeat of the Spanish Armada
Wednesday 9th November

CLASSIC SAILING PASSAGES

South Coast of England to Brittany with Kitty Hampton giving useful tips on passage planning
Wednesday 16th November

GETTING THE BEST OUT OF A SMALL CRUISER

An illustrated talk by Charles Stock on engine-free cruising out of Maldon from the Norfolk Broads to the Thames.

Saturday 19th November

SATURDAY SPECIAL

Hands-on-Decca. A practical teach-in on Decca to maximise the potential of this aid to navigation. (Tickets from secretary)
Wednesday 23rd November

SINGLE-HANDED RACE TO THE CARIBBEAN AND BACK

Association member Howard Measham recalls the preparation of his yacht Janie M for the Atlantic race for cruisers to Barbados, and his single handed return Bermuda to the Azores.
Wednesday 30th November

ITS NOT THE BOATS, ITS THE PEOPLE IN THEM

A sideways look at small boat seamanship by Andrew Bray, editor of Yachting Monthly.
Wednesday 7th December

CAST-OFF FOR CHRISTMAS

Nautical fun and games with Doreen Annan and Tom Round.