Print

AUTUMN PROGRAMME 1993

Wednesday 6th October

THE TOUGHEST YACHT RACE EVER

(Members only evening-numbers limited to 135)

As a follow up to his superb reports in the Daily Telegraph, Mike Calvin will recount his participation in the British Steel Challenge race on board Hoffbrau Lager.

Wednesday 13th October

HIGH SPEED NAVIGATION FOR LOW SPEED SAILORS

Captain Richard Bickford of British Airways compares navigation in somewhat different dimensions—not to say planes!
Wednesday 20th October

THE ATLANTIC RALLY FOR CRUISERS (ARC)

Sail with Caribbean bound GXSA members Hugh and Angela Farrant. This time take the easy way across in Spring Gold II.
Wednesday 27th October

COMPACT CRUISING

Anne and Dennis Kell recall their experiences of coastal and inland cruising throughout the British Isles.

(Come early and support the R.N.L.I. stall)

Wednesday 3rd November

AROUND THE WORLD IN EIGHTY MINUTES

Founder of the successful Atlantic Rally for cruisers, Jimmy Cornell, will discuss the highlights and problems in organising his first Europa Round the World Rally.
Wednesday 10th November

KWENDA'S RETURN

By special request Gordon Wood, ably assisted by wife Rosemary and Gil Ireland, will tell of "every day a new experience" during Kwenda's return home from Bordeaux.
Saturday 13th November

SATURDAY SPECIAL - VISIT TO THE NATIONAL MARITIME MUSEUM

To apply for this all day visit to Greenwich please put your name on the notice board.
Wednesday 17th November

SAIL MAKING AND SAIL CLOTHS

Ivan Bole of Arun Sails describes some of the whys and wherefores of producing good sails.
Wednesday 24th November

THE INSHORE LIFEBOAT

The ups and downs of life on the Hayling Lifeboat by helmsman Roderick James. (Come early-your last chance to get your R.N.L.I. Christmas gifts)
Wednesday 1st December

THE TITANIC — 80 YEARS OF LEGEND

David Hutchings will talk of the White Star Shipping Line and the fateful maiden voyage of its most famous ship, including accounts of survivors and recent diving discoveries.
Wednesday 8th December

CAST OFF FOR CHRISTMAS

Music, Nautical Fun, Mince Pies and Mulled Wine.