Print

SPRING PROGRAMME 1993

Wednesday 13th January

MEDITERRANEAN CRUISING

Travel along with GXSA members David and Gill Lane as they cruise from the Rhone to Rhodes.
Wednesday 20th January

COMMON SENSE ELECTRICS AND ELECTRONICS IN BOATS

Matthew Walker and Mike McAllister of Mainstream Marine Electronics will discuss a practical approach to everyday electrics.
Wednesday 27th January

"THE YACHTSMAN" AND THE BREST CLASSIC RALLY 1992

Tom Cunliffe, editor of The Yachtsman founded in 1891, will discuss its relaunching and introduce us to some of the magnificent classic vessels at the Brest Rally.
Wednesday 3rd February

A VERY RUM PUNCH

Association members Mavis and Alun Roberts will talk light-heartedly about their chartering in the Caribbean.
Wednesday 10th February

SPRING CRUSADER

Ex-Association member Douglas Horton will describe his transition from dinghy to cruiser sailing which included a flotilla delivery passage from Yugoslavia to Turkey.
Wednesday 17th February

ROPES THEIR TYPES AND RECOMMENDED USES

Mark Durbidge of Marlow Ropes will talk on the manufacture and recommended uses of ropes together with a demonstration of splicing.
Wednesday 24th February

IRISH WATERS CRUISING

W.M. (Winkle) Nixon the well-known cruising correspondent of Yachting World will take us to Irish waters with the aid of slides.
Wednesday 3rd March

PILOTAGE IN CREEKS AND HARBOURS

John Goode Principal of the Southern Sailing School and author of the "Let's do it under sail" articles will give us hints for sailing in close waters.
Wednesday 10th March

WORKING SAIL

Irene is a 1907 West Country trading ketch and the last working survivor of a vast fleet. Dr. Leslie Morrish will tell us about the history of Irene and her new career.
Saturday 13th March

SATURDAY SPECIAL - VISIT TO COASTGUARD AT LEE ON SOLENT

To apply for this headquarters visit please put your name on the notice board form. Numbers are limited so follow up with Peter Upcher.
Wednesday 17th March

AGM AND FILM

The Annual General Meeting will be followed by a film or video—title to be announced.
Friday 19th March

THE ASSOCIATION DINNER

The Annual Dinner will be held at the Bull Hotel, Gerrards Cross. Admission to members and guests by reservation only via Paul Harper