Print

SPRING PROGRAMME 1991

Wednesday 9th January

BLUE-PRINT FOR THE ARUN CLASS LIFEBOAT

Stuart Welford, Research & Development Manager of the R.N.L.I. will describe the process of developing this class of vessel.
Wednesday 16th January

TWO STAR — ACROSS THE ATLANTIC

Our members and the only husband and wife team, Hugh and Angela Farrant will excite us with their adventures in getting there and back in their new Sadler Starlight 38.
Wednesday 23rd January

YACHTMASTER

What it takes to become a Yachtmaster. James Stevens, the R.Y.A. cruising coach explains and also outlines the new design and equipment requirements for Sailing School yachts.
Wednesday 30th January

CHARTS & PILOT BOOKS FOR YACHTSMEN

Willie Wilson, Chairman of Imray Laurie Norie Wilson will describe the work that goes into the preparation and production of the necessities for safe and enjoyable cruising.
Wednesday 6th February

ANCHORS AND DROGUES — FACTS AND MYTHS

Discussed by Bernard Hayman of Yachting World.
Wednesday 13th February

CHANCE OF A LIFETIME

Captain Adrian Allenby, R.N. Master of the Sir Winston Churchill will talk about the work of the Sail Training Association and life aboard the Schooners.
Saturday 16th February

“SATURDAY SPECIAL”

IMPROVE YOUR WEATHER AWARENESS

Plotting and tracking depressions. David Houghton, Olympic Meteorological adviser, will give a day’s tution.
Wednesday 20th February

SOMETHOUGHTS FOR NAVIGATION WHEN MAKING A

CHANNEL CROSSING

From Sqn Ldr Ken Burgess, Senior Lecturer in navigation and meteorology at the College of Maritime Studies, Warsash.
Wednesday 27th February

FITTED OUT FOR COMFORT AND EFFICIENCY

Experienced cruising yachtsman, Dr. Malcolm McLaren, illustrates his priorities when fitting out his Moody Grenadier "Malmac” for serious extended off-shore cruising.
Wednesday 6th March

VOYAGE OF THE LORNE LEADER

Association member Wolfgang Ansorge describes his voyage in a 1892 Brixham trawler to St Kilda and the Hebrides including many rarely visited islands.
Wednesday 13th March

A.G.M. and VIDEO

Friday 15th March

THE ASSOCIATION SILVER JUBILEE DINNER

at Trinity House, London EC3

Guest Speaker: Maj Ewen Southby-Tailyour.