Print

SPRING PROGRAMME 1990

Wednesday 10th January

EXPLORING THE SCILLIES

Club member David Lane will pilot you to these enchanting islands with their wealth of natural and historic interests.
Wednesday 17th January

CLOSE QUARTER HANDLING

Alison Noice, principal of the Westerley Sea School, will discuss techniques of manoeuvring, mooring and anchoring.
Wednesday 24th January

IS SHE WELL FOUND?

Peter Tier, Chairman of the Yacht Builders, Designers and Surveyors Association, provides an insight into yacht surveying with cautionary tales.
Wednesday 31st January

5,400 MILES IN "SALAL", A GOLDEN HIND 31

Ruth Clements and Ted Long illustrate with slides and film this epic trip from England to Vancouver B.C. via Panama and Hawaii.
Wednesday 7th February

CRUISING THE RIAS OF N.W. SPAIN, ABOARD SKYJACK 11

Gp. Cpt. Bastard returns to describe yet another fascinating cruise.
Wednesday 14th February

DEVELOPEMENTS IN SAIL REEFING SYSTEMS

Tim Drew, a rigger (formerly with Sadler's) will discuss recent develope- ments in reefing systems and the sails as they affect cruising yachts.
Wednesday 21st February

WHICH TACK?

Yachtmaster examiner John Cawsey will describe how to develop one’s ' navigational skills and improve the sailing performance of the average cruising yacht.
Wednesday 28th February

FIT FOR THE PURPOSE?

Club members Archie Annan and Robert Smith will each talk about selecting and equipping their yachts - one for extended cruising and the other for off-shore racing.
Wednesday 7th March

CRUISING CORSICA

Matthew and Fiona Flynn of Sun Sail will illustrate this magnificent cruising area and recount their experiences as flotilla tenders.
Saturday 10th March

SATURDAY SPECIAL, DIESEL ENGINES

John Chapman of Volvo/Penta U.K. will give a talk on the principles of the diesel engine and follow this with a practical demonstration on maintenance.

A snack lunch will be available.

Wednesday 14th March

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

Followed by a video film on Whitbread 1989/90.
Saturday 17th March

THE ASSOCIATION ANNUAL DINNER:

at the Bellhouse Hotel, Beaconsfield, guest speaker Bill Giles