Print

AUTUMN PROGRAMME 2000

Wednesday 4th October

CRUISING CHILE.

John and Fay Garey tell of their year exploring coastal and inland Chile, from the sub-tropical south to the desert north. And why we should all remember Chiloe

Wednesday 11th October

MUD IN THE BLOOD.

Colin Jarman - journalist, author and sailor - recalls his upbringing and exploits on sailing our East Coast.

Wednesday 18th October

MEMBER'S NIGHT.

  1. Ted Sutton recalls his first Channel crossing at the beginning of a very steep learning curve!
  2. John Pell returns with more tales of keeping 'UBIN' in his favourite parts of
Wednesday 25th October

TESTING TIMES ON YACHTS.

David Harding, yachting journalist and photographer, tells of his work with the sailing monthlies.

Wednesday 1st November

FORGET COWES WEEK - THIS IS FERRET NIGHT!

Have a flutter on the Furry Flyers to raise funds for the RNLI and GXSA. Or sponsor a race or runner, or just come for the fun!

Saturday 4th November

SATURDAY SPECIAL-SELDEN MASTS, SOUTHAMPTON.

A visit to Europe's biggest spar manufacturer.

Wednesday 8th November

NARROWBOAT FROM LECHLADE TO LIMEHOUSE.

Airline pilot Richard Poad changes speed from Boeing to narrowboat and draws upon twenty years of Thames navigation to take us from (almost) source to sea.

Wednesday 15th November

HMS WARRIOR.

Val Fontana, historian and senior guide to the Warrior, tells his story of this ship which marked the end of the Royal Navy's days of sail.

Wednesday 22nd November

ROPE YARNS.

The inimitable Des Pawson talks of ropes and knots.

Wednesday 29th November

A GUIDE TO NEW GADGETRY.

For ALL the crew! Jolyon Martin of Raytheon joins us for an evening of discussion and hands-on practice with the latest electronic equipment for small boats. Try before you buy.

Wednesday 6th December

CAST OFF FOR CHRISTMAS.

Your chance to amuse, inform or confess!!